I’ve written before about the woefully low minimum automobile liability insurance limits in Texas, and how they were going to changed in April 2008. Well, the time has finally come, and as of April 1, the minimum insurance requirements were increased under the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act. This applies to policies purchased or renewed on or after that date.
Now, the minimum limits are no longer 20,000/40,000/15.000. The new state-mandated limits are 25,000/50,000/25,000. That means $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident; $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident; and $25,000 for damage to or destruction of the property of others in one accident. These limits are still far too low, both for injury and property damage, but at least it’s a small step in the right direction.
We advise all our clients to purchase more than the minimum limits if possible, and please pay the few extra dollars to add Personal Injury Protection and Uninsured Motorist coverage to your policy. Statistics show that 25% or more of all Texas motorists have no auto insurance coverage. If you get hit by one of those drivers and you don’t have Uninsured Motorist coverage, you’ll probably be out of luck. Talk to your insurance agent now about adding this coverage.