Call Us - We're Easy to Talk To (214) 999-9999

How to Put in a Claim with Your Insurance Company

Recovering after an accident, theft, or damages can be expensive. It is the work of insurance to compensate you depending on the type of coverage you take. For compensation, there is a need to understand the process of filing for a claim with your insurance.

Call the Police

Calling 911 is the first step in case of car accident claims. It is the police’s work to record how the accident happened, especially if you have injuries. There is no need for a police statement if you can explain yourself.

Document the Information About Your Accident

The insurance company will need detailed information on how the accident happened. Having the data will make it easy to file your claims. You can even take photos covering every angle.

Contact Your Insurance Company

Do not take time before calling your insurance company. The company will advise you on the next step to take, including the information you need to send them. Suppose it is a car accident. The company will offer transport for both you and the car depending on the policy terms and conditions. Thus, saving you some cash. One thing that confuses people is filing the claim if it is the other driver’s fault. But you need to file the claim on both insurance coverages.

To file a claim, you only need the information about the accident. If it’s homeowner insurance, you will need to file a proof of losses document and the item lost or damaged. Some insurance asks for the cost needed to replace the damaged items.

Filing the Claims

After gathering all the information, you need to file your claims. Depending on the insurance company, you can use their app, email them, or through the phone with one of their agents. You should give the correct information to the insurance company. Besides, the company will send an insurance adjuster to verify the information. When checking the given information, he/she will calculate and recommend the company on the amount of cash to get compensated. It is the work of the adjuster to give a minimal amount of compensation. Thus, be wise when providing the information and include every detail.

After filling the claim, the company can take a minimum of 30 days or a maximum of three years, depending on their term and conditions. Be sure to check with the company you file a claim with to find out more.

Author information: Rachelle Wilber is a freelance writer living in the San Diego, California area. She graduated from San Diego State University with her Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism and Media Studies. She tries to find an interest in all topics and themes, which prompts her writing. When she isn’t on her porch writing in the sun, you can find her shopping, at the beach, or at the gym. Follow her on Twitter: @RachelleWilber

Bob Kraft

I am a Dallas, Texas lawyer who has had the privilege of helping thousands of clients since 1971 in the areas of Personal Injury law and Social Security Disability.

About This Blog

The title of this blog reflects my attitude toward those government agencies and insurance companies that routinely mistreat injured or disabled people. As a Dallas, Texas lawyer, I've spent more than 45 years trying to help those poor folk, and I have been frustrated daily by the actions of the people on the other side of their claims. (Sorry if I offended you...)

If you find this type of information interesting or helpful, please visit my law firm's main website at You will find many more articles and links. Thank you for your time.

Find us on your preferred network